Friday, April 4, 2008

Rice Chex now Gluten Free!

Original post from www.glutenfreelongisland.blogspot.com from Friday, April 4, 2008:

Thanks General Mills!!!

Rice Chex Cereal is now Gluten Free!
http://www.bellinstitute.com/stream_document.aspx?rRID=6219&pRID=6173

UPDATE: MAKE SURE TO READ THE LABEL! I went to the store today, and the Rice Chex still contained Barley Malt Flavor! The new boxes are not in all stores yet! Make sure it is the one pictured in the link above (that says "Gluten Free" on the front of the box) and of course always READ every label! . I found out that it's only the 12.8 size box manufactured after Feb 1, 2008. There will be 3 check marks on the box. One of them stating gluten free. As with all reformulated products, both the old and new products may be on store shelves at the same time so please read labels/packaging carefully.

5/13/08I also e-mailed the Reps from GM- regarding the New formula for Berry Berry Kix, that does not contain gluten, but is not labled "Gluten Free"... this was the response:
5/13/08
" Dear Valued Consumer:Thank you for contacting General Mills regarding gluten in Berry Berry Kix cereal and Rice Chex cereal. Rice Chex has been reformulated to insure that it does not include gluten-containing ingredients or have the possibility of cross contact with gluten containing ingredients or products. The malt syrup ingredient was removed. As with all reformulated products, both products may be on store shelves at the same time so consumers are encouraged to read labels/packaging carefully. There are no immediate plans for additional gluten-free labeled cereals. It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package. However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing, so we want to assure you if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the product's ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information. "

No comments: